The History of the Rugby World Cup


The Rugby World Cup is contested every four years between the top international teams. The tournament was first held in 1987, when the tournament was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. The winners are awarded the Webb Ellis Cup, named after William Webb Ellis, the Rugby School pupil who, according to a popular legend, invented rugby by picking up the ball during a football game. Four countries have won the trophy; New Zealand three times, Australia and South Africa each twice, and England once. New Zealand are the current champions, having defeated Australia in the final of the 2015 tournament in England. Japan will host the 2019 Rugby World Cup and France will host in 2023. This book is a collector’s edition featuring images and details from every World Cup since 1975.

Categories: , ISBN: 9781782814900



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The History of the Rugby World Cup”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like…